As is true with most, if not all, states in the U.S., it is requirement that all Missouri drivers carry at least the minimum amount of car insurance. This is a protection to them as well as to other drivers in the case of an automobile accident.
Liability Coverage Only
If a driver owns an older car that has little or no replacement value, he can opt to carry the minimum amount of insurance coverage. This would guarantee at least the minimum in the case of injury to others for which the insured is liable. It does not cover any replacement amounts due to damages to the insured’s vehicle.
This may save money in the way of insurance premiums while meeting Missouri car insurance requirements. But keep in mind that if you have only liability coverage and your car is totaled, you will find yourself at Square One so to speak. In other words, you will find yourself in the position of having to purchase a replacement car, new or used, out-of-pocket, with no help from your insurance company. So think seriously before making the decision to get liability coverage only.
Keep in mind that if you are driving an older model car, it may have no replacement value anyway. You don’t want to be paying for full coverage options that will never be used as in the case where your insurance company considers your vehicle to have no replacement value.
Missouri ranked 35th, out of 51 states, for annual average car insurance premiums calculated by Insure.com. The annual average for MS is $1,112 which is below the national average of $1,311.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Missouri car insurance laws also require uninsured motorist coverage, at least for the minimum in the way of coverage for bodily injury. They are less concerned about property damage in the case of an automobile accident. But if an accident is caused by a party who has no insurance coverage and there is an injury involved, your uninsured motorist coverage guarantees necessary treatment will not be denied.
Sometimes there is damage to a vehicle through no fault of any driver. This scenario would include unanticipated or unavoidable situations such as a fire or a tornado. This is where the comprehensive coverage portion of your Missouri car insurance policy would kick in.
Proof of Insurance
Under Missouri law, you must carry Proof of Insurance with you at all times. If you are stopped for a traffic violation or have an automobile accident, you will be expected to produce this Proof of Insurance to the police officer who stopped you. If you cannot do so, it will mean an additional fine added if you are ticketed, and additional expense to you.
This issue can be easily remedied if you keep an up-to-date copy of your Proof of Insurance in your glove compartment at all times. A police officer is also required to notify the Department of Revenue if you are unable to show them proof of insurance. This could result in a suspended license.
These are just a few of the laws in the State of Missouri of which you should be aware regarding car insurance requirements. Anyone operating a motor vehicle should familiarize himself with these laws in order to ensure they are compliant with all Missouri car insurance requirements.